Parmesan Knots – Nudos de parmesano

Last week I decided I wanted to try something new from a book I bought earlier this year: Bread, the definitive guide to making bread by hand or machine by Sara Lewis. It was recommended by one of my favourite bloggers, Alma Obregón. I’ve been making my own (and my family’s actually) bread since last July and I have to say I love it! This book is great because all the recipes inside contain instructions to make your bread either by hand or in a machine. Since I don’t own one of these machines, I do mine by hand. I’ve discovered that putting the ingredients together, kneading them and watching them rise are like a therapy to me. I’ve tried three recipes so far, I mean, three of them have become essential. So, as I said, I thought it was about time for me to try something new.

One of my aunties is celebrating her birthday soon and she’s asked me to prepare some things (oh, please, somebody help me!) for that occasion. One of the things that looked really nice and yummy was parmesan knots. The truth is it’s quite easy to do but I still have to improve my dough-cutting and dough-shaping.

Here you have the recipe (it makes 12 but I think it’s better if they’re smaller, and then you’ll have more to share!!)

  • 475 g strong white flour
  • 2 tablespoons butter (I use olive oil)
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons fast-action dried yeast
  • 275 ml warm water

To finish: 3/4 cup olive oil, 3 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese, 1 teaspoon dried oregano

  1. Put the flour into a bowl, add the sugar, salt, dried yeast and olive oil.
  2. Gradually mix in enough water to make a soft dough.
  3. Knead well on a lightly floured surface for 5 minutes or so, until the dough is smooth and elastic. Clean the bowl and oil the bottom and the sides. Put the dough back into the bowl and cover with oiled clingfilm and leave in a warm place to rise for 1 hour or until doubled in size.
  4. Tip the dough out on a lightly floured surface and knead well. Cut into 12 (or more) pieces and shape them into knots (take a piece of dough and shape it into a 22cm rope; loop one end of the rope and thread the other through the loop).
  5. Cover loosely with clingfilm again and leave in a warm place to rise for 20 minutes.
  6. Remove clingfilm, brush with the mixture made with olive oil, parmesan cheese and oregano. Bake in a preheated oven, 200ºC for 10 minutes (I preheat the oven at 200ºC, then lower to 160ºC and bake for 20-25 minutes). Bake until golden and the bases sound hollow when tapped with fingertips. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.
  7. Enjoy!!!!

You could do all sorts of shapes: coils, buns, starburst, etc.

La semana pasada decidí probar algo nuevo de un libro que me compré este año. El libro me lo recomendó una mis blogueras favoritas, Alma Obregón de Objetivo: Cupcake Perfecto. El libro es Bread, the definitive guide to making bread my hand or machine de Sara Lewis. Llevo haciendo mi pan (y el de mi familia) desde julio de este año y me encanta! El libro es fantástico porque todas las recetas incluyen instrucciones para hacer pan a mano o en panificadora. Ahora bien, yo no tengo una de estas máquinas, así que hago mi pan a mano. He descubierto que medir y pesar los ingredientes, mezclarlos, amasar y ver cómo sube la masa es algo casi terapéutico. Hasta el momento he probado tres recetas, lo que quiere decir que son tres recetas imprescindibles para mí! Así que, como he idcho pensé que había llegado el momento de probar algo nuevo.

Una de mis tías celebra su cumpleaños en unos días y me ha pedido que haga algunas cosillas (por favor, que alguien me ayude!) para la ocasión. Una de las cosas que tenía una pinta fantástica eran estos nudos de parmesano. Son bastante sencillos aunque todavía tengo que mejorar mi técnica de cortado y formado de la masa.

Aquí está la receta (es para 12 pero creo que quedan mejor si son algo más pequeños, además tendrás más para compartir!)

  • 475 g harina de fuerza
  • 30 g mantequilla (yo uso 30 ml aceite oliva)
  • 5 g azúcar
  • 5 g sal
  • 6,25 g levadura seca de panadero (yo uso de Maizena)
  • 275 ml agua templada

Y por encima: mezcla en un cuenco pequeño unos 60 ml de aceite de oliva, 45 g de queso parmesano rallado y 5 g de orégano.

  1. En un cuenco grande mezcla la harina, sal, azúcar, levadura y aceite.
  2. Poco a poco, echa el agua y ve mezclando hasta que te quede una masa blanda.
  3. En una superficie enharinada, amasa unos 5 minutos hasta que la masa sea suave y elástica. Lava y seca el cuenco, úntalo con aceite en el fondo y las pareces. Pon la masa otra vez en el cueno y cúbrelo con papel transparente también untado de aceite. Déjalo reposar durante 1 hora en un lugar cálido y sin corrientes.
  4. Vuelca la masa otra vez en un superficie enharinada y amasa otra vez. Corta la masa en 12 trozos (o más) y forma nudos (haz churros como de unos 22 cm; forma un lazo con un extremo del churro y luego pasa el otro extremo por dentro del lazo, vamos un nudo de toda la vida ;))
  5. Ponlos en una bandeja de horno y cúbrelos otra vez con papel transparente. Deja levar otra vez 20 minutos.
  6. Quita el plástico y pincela los nudos con la mezcla de aceite, parmesano y orégano. Mete los nudos al horno previamente precalentado a 200ºC  y hornea 10 minutos ( yo lo precaliento a 200ºC aproximadamente y luego lo bajo a 160ºC y los horneo unos 20-25 minutos). Están hechos cuando golpeas la base con los dedos y suena hueco. Ponlos a enfriar en una rejilla.
  7. Disfruta!

Puedes hacer otras formas: espirales, panecillos, ruedas…

One thought on “Parmesan Knots – Nudos de parmesano

  1. Creo que voy a sorprender a Raul con esta receta !!!!!!! Se va a volver loco , y yo también !! Es que nos encanta el parmesano

    Estoy desesosa de leer alguna nueva receta !!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

