Quick white loaf – Pan blanco rápido

I remember the first time I baked a loaf: I had this amazing feeling of completion, silly, I know. But I felt I had acomplished something really difficult and challenging. I had read about people who didn’t know how to knead, whose dough was sticky no matter the flour they added or how the bread they ended up being as solid as a rock! Therefore, I was very scared of dealing with doughs and kneading. But, as I was reading different blogs I decided that I had to try it, at least try. I think it’s like with dogs: they can smell fear! The same happens with doughs. If you’re nervous about it and doubt yourself all the way through, then it won’t turn out right. Ok, my bread does not taste as the ones you’d buy or those one from people who have been baking for a long time but it’s mine and I can tell you it has certainly improved throughout these months. I have even tried different flours: wholemeal, spelt and a specific type of flour from my region. I still have a lot to learn and I’m considering taking some lessons in the near future but even if I don’t, I’ll continue to bake my bread.

As I promised, although later than I expected, I’m back with the quick white loaf. This one I made it two weeks ago and I have to say I relly liked it. Let me start by saying I took it from the Sarah Lewis’s book I’ve already mentioned. It’s a great book for novice bakers, at least that’s how I see it. The instructions are really easy to follow and the results are quite good. It took me a while to bake this one because one of the main ingredients was milk powder and I didn’t have it. Everytime I went to the supermarket I forgot to look for it but the last time I went through the book looking for a new recipe, there it was: Quick white loaf. And so I got hold of some milk powder and baked this charming loaf.

Ingredients for a small loaf (500 g)

  • 325 g strong white flour
  • 1 tablespoon milk powder
  • 2 teaspoons caster sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 3/4 teaspoons fast-action dried yeast
  • 1 tablespoon oil (I used olive oil)
  • 200 ml warm water

How to do it

In a big bowl mix together the flour, milk powder, sugar, salt and yeast; then add the oil and little by little mix in enough water to make a soft dough. Knead well on a floured surface for about 10 minutes until the dough is smooth and elastic. Then place it in a geased tin and cover loosely with oiled clingfilm. Leave it in a warm place for around 45 minutes or until the dough reaches the top of the tin. Before the 45 minutes are over, preheat your oven at 200ºC; when the 45 minutes are over it’s time to put the tin in the oven for 25 minutes, until the bread is golden and sounds hollow. Take out of the oven, loosen the loaf and transfer to a rack to cool.

I think I like this one more than the other one I’ve been making since July last year. I think it lasts longer, tastes really good and it crumbles later than the other one.

Take good care of yourselves and see you soon!

Recuerdo la primera vez que hice pan: me sentí completa, realizada. Una tontería, ya lo sé. Pero sentí que había conseguido algo difícil, un reto.  Había leido aerca de gente que no sabía amasar, a los que la masa se les quedaba pegajosa sin importar la harina que echaran o cómo les salía un pan más duro que una piedra. Así que las masas y amasar me daban pánico. Pero, mientras leía distintos blogs decidí que por lo menos tenía que intentarlo. Creo que es como con los perros: huelen el miedo! Y lo mismo sucede con las masas. Si estás nerviosa y dudas de ti todo el rato, entonces no te saldrá bien. De acuerdo, mi pan no sabe como los que puedes comprar o los que hace la gente que lleva haciendo pan mucho tiempo, pero es mi pan y puedo deciros que ha mejorado en estos meses. Incluso he probado distintas harinas: integral, espelta o una harina ecológica (Aragón 03). Sé que aún me queda mucho por aprender y me estoy planteando hacer algún curso en un futuro no muy lejano. Pero, incluso si no lo hago, seguiré haciendo pan.

Como prometí, aunque algo más tarde de lo esperado, he vuelto con el pan blanco rápido. este lo hice hace unas dos semanas y tengo que decir que me gustó bastante. Esta receta también pertenece al libro de Sarah Lewis que ya he mencionado. Creo que es un gran libro para panaderos principiantes como yo. Las recetas son muy fáciles de seguir y los resutlados bastante buenos. Tardé bastante en hacer este pan porque me faltaba uno de los ingredientes: leche en polvo. Cada vez que iba al super se me olvidaba comprarla. Sin embargo, la última vez que me puse a releer el libro, ahí estaba el pan blanco rápido esperándome. De modo que me agencié un bote de leche en polvo y aquí estoy.

Ingredientes para un pan pequeño, de 500 g

  • 325 g de harina de fuerza
  • 1 cucharada de leche en polvo
  • 2 cucharaditas de azúcar glass
  • 1/2 cucharadita de sal
  • 1 3/4 cucharaditas de levadura de panadero (Maizena)
  • 1 cucharada de aceite (yo utilizo de oliva)
  • 200 ml de agua templada

¿Cómo se hace?

Mezclar en un bol grande la harina, leche en polvo, sal, azúcar y levadura. Añadir el aceite y después, poco a poco, el agua hasta que tengamos una masa suave. Amasar bien en una superficie con harina durante unos 10 minutos, hasta que la masa quede suave y elástica. A continuación pon la masa en un molde para pan engrasado y cúbrelo con film transparente untado con aceite. Deja reposar en un sitio cálido durante unos 45 minutos, hasta que la masa llegue al borde del molde. Antes de que el tiempo de reposo se acabe, precalienta el horno a 200º C. Cuando los 45 minutos hayan acabado, introduce el pan en el horno y déjalo durante unos 25 minutos o hasta que este dorado por encima y al golpearlo con los dedos suene hueco. Sácalo del horno y del molde y ponlo a enfriar en una rejilla.

Creo que me gusta más este que el otro que llevo haciendo desde julio del año pasado. Creo que dura más, sabe muy bien y tarda más en desmigarse al cortar.

Cuidaos mucho y nos vemos pronto!

Leave a Reply

