Baileys Bundt Cake for my birthday! – Bundt de Baileys para mi cumpleaños!

So, it was my birthday two weeks ago. I had been thinking about that weekend for weeks, trying to choose what to bake. I had a lot of ideas but it finally came down to 4 things that turned out to be 3. See, the thing is that my friends were coming on Saturday and the rest of the family on Sunday. It was very difficult to choose from all the cookbooks and blogs I have, believe me. I knew I had to do some cupcakes, and I did. My final selection was Victoria Sponge Cake from Nigella’s How to be a Domestic Goddess, Chocolate cupcakes from Cake Days by the Hummingbird Bakery and a Baileys Bundt cake found in the online magazine WholeKitchen. Initially I had included some earl grey cupcakes but, finally, I didn’t need them since I had some chocolate cupcakes left.

Today I bring you the Baileys Bundt cake. I had already baked this one at Christmas, for my uncle’s birthday. I liked it but I thought it needed some more Baileys and, maybe, some more time in the oven. So that’s what I did. And the result, believe me, was a total winner! It was very, very tasty and spongy. Outside it had like a crunchier layer, totally accidental, by the way. I didn’t mean the cake to have it but it seems I don’t control my oven just yet! Everybody loved it!

Ingredients

  • 410 gr flour
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of baking powder
  • 225 gr butter, room temeperature
  • 330 gr sugar (I put less, around 300)
  • 4 eggs room temperature
  • 200 ml milk room temperature
  • 40 ml Baileys (I put around 100 ml)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ginger
  • icing sugar to decorate

How to do it

We’ll need a big bowl to do this. First, we mix the softened butter for a minute or so til it’s soft and then we add the sugar. Now, we mix around 6 minutes, until the mixture is fluffy and light. One by one, we add the eggs, mixing well after each one of them. Afterwards, we add the cinnamon and the ginger and mix. Next step, adding the baking powder to the flour in one bowl and the Baileys to the milk in a jug or mixing glass. At this moment, it would be a good idea to preheat the oven at 175ºC. Right, now we have to add the flour and baking powder mixture and the milk and Baileys to the first mixture. We’re going to do this alternating the mixtures, that is, first some flour and mix well, then milk and Baileys and mix well again, now it’s flour and mix, Baileys and mix… until you have a big bowl that smells great full of a beautifully coloured batter. It’s time now to grease the Bundt tin, I put softened butter and then flour. Pour the batter to the tin carefully. Once you have poured all the batter inside, you should move or slightly shake the tin so the batter gets everywhere (my tin has a lot of corners and I wanted a beautiful cake).  So, your tin goes into the preheated oven for 50-60 minutes or until you insert a tester and it comes out clean. When this happens, take the cake out of the oven and leave the cake in the tin for 10 minutes exactly. Once the ten minutes have passed, very carefully, gently shake the tin so the cake inside separates from the walls of the mould. Unmould the cake and leave it to cool completely before decorating it with icing sugar.

Enjoy with a cuppa tea or coffee!

De modo que hace dos semanas o así fue mi cumpleaños. Llevaba varias semanas pensando qué iba a hacer, intentando elegir. Se me ocurrieron muchas ideas y al final tuve 4 ideas que se quedaron en 3. Veréis, mis amigos venían el sábado y mi familia el domingo. Me costó mucho elegir entre todos mis libros y los blogs que sigo. Finalmente, me quedé con un Victoria Sponge Cake de Nigella Lawson (que promero poner en otra ocasión porque es una pasada!), unos cupcakes de chocolate con fresa del libro Cake Days de la Hummingbrid Bakery y un Bundt de Baileys de la revista online WholeKitchen. En un principio había incluido unos cupcakes de earl grey pero al final no los necesité porque salieron bastantes cupcakes de chocolate.

Hoy he decidido subir el Bundt de Baileys. Tengo que decir que lo hice estas navidades para el cumpleaños de mi tío. Entonces me gustó pero me pareció que necesitaba algo más de Baileys y algo más de tiempo en el horno. De modo que así loo hice y el resultado fue un bizcocho muy sabroso y esponjoso por dentro. Por fuera, se quedó como una costra más crujiente. Fue totalmente accidental, creo que es porque todavía no controlo mi horno!! A todo el mundo le gustó mucho y yo tengo muchísimas ganas de probar otra receta de bundt!

Aquí os dejo el enlace en español para la receta del Bundt de Baileys.

Leave a Reply

