Summertime and Oreo & red fruit Cheesecake

It’s been a while, eh? The end of the school year was really hectic and busy and then I’ve been doing other things: videogame localization course, holidays, visiting a friend… I so wanted to comeback! And I have to say I haven’t actually baked these last weeks. The only thing I baked was for my brother’s birthday, which I don’t have good photographs of, but I promise I’ll post because it was really good!

I don’t know if it’s very hot where you live or where you are reading this, but here in my hometown, it is boiling! Let me tell you we’ve had a heatwave coming and going for the last 2 weeks and right now we’re in the middle of another one! Just an example, last night the temperature was around 24 degrees and no light breeze in sight to cool off the night! So, you can imagine I don’t really want to turn on the oven and actually bake. But I do want to bake, I’m not making myself clear…. must be the heat!

My blog-reading activity has slightly decreased due to the holiday period and the temperatures (these things are a source of heat like no other!). However, I managed to stumble upon several recipes for summer, that is, recipes where you don’t have to turn on the oven! Brilliant! The first one I found was this one in a blog that I really like!  Cupcakelosophy is full of beautiful recipes and photographs, Davinia tries the kind of things I’ve always wanted to do but am afraid of and when I read her, I think “Why not?”. She has a great section of cheesecakes and cupcakes!  The original recipe is a big, fat, gorgeous  cheesecake that you can see here. But I decided to use a set of 6 beautiful glasses I bought at the beginning of summer. They look like they are a nice size for a dessert so I said to myself “Go ahead!”. Davinia found the recipe in another wonderful blog, Call me cupcake. Go and take a look, it’s simply gorgeous!

Ingredients

For the base

  • 150gr Oreo cookies
  • 50gr melted butter
  • save 5 or 6 Oreo cookies

For the cheesecake

  • 300gr cream cheese, Philadelphia type
  • 250gr mascarpone or ricotta cheese
  • 400ml heavy cream
  • 130gr sugar (I put 100gr, it seemed too much)
  • zest of half a lemon (I didn’t put it because I had no lemons!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 100gr strawberries
  • 150gr of cherries, blackberries, rapsberries, a mixture of all of them, one only… I found some frozen blackberries and used them!

How to do it

For the base, crush the Oreo cookies and mix them in a bowl with the melted butter until you have a paste consistency. Put this paste in the bottom of a springform pan or in the glasses, like I did. Try not to have a very thick base. Press the cookie paste with your fingers until it looks even. Put the pan or glasses in the freezer until you need them.

For the cheesecake, put in a big bowl the cream cheese, the ricotta or mascarpone, the heavy crea, sugar, lemon zest and vanilla extract. Now mix everything well for about three minutes, until the batter is creamy. Now split the batter in two bowls.

For the first half of the cheesecake, wash the strawberries and cut them in chunks, put them in a bowl with two spoonfuls of the batter and mix them until you have a cream. Mix the strawberry cream with one of the bowls until the colour is even. Davinia from Cupcakelosophy suggests adding some pink coloring if you want a more intense colour, in my case the colour in the strawberry batter was quite soft and thought the blackberries would give a darker shade so I didn’t put anything! Take the glasses or pan outside the freezer and pur the batter on top of the Oreo base. in the case of the glasses, I used a ladle and poured a similar quantity in the glasses. Then, take the glasses back to the freezer for at least an hour.

An hour later, it’s time to prepare the second half of the cheesecake. Since my kitchen was quite warm, I put the bowl with the cheese mixture in the fridge so it wasn’t too runny. Mix the blackberries with two spoonfuls of batter from the second bowl until it looks like a cream. Mix this cream with the rest of the cheese bowl until the colour is even. Again, take the glasses ouside the freezer. Now, remember those 5 or 6 Oreo cookies you saved? Well, now place them on top of the strawberry cake and pour the blackberry batter on top. Take the glasses back to the freezer and let the batters freeze.

When it’s time to enjoy this cake, take the pan or the glasses outside the freezer at least 1 hour before eating. Since I put the cake in glasses instead of the pan, I changed the glasses from the freezer to the fridge for 30-45 minutes and then took them out completely, for 15 minutes more or less. Before eating,  decorate the cake or cakes with fresh fruit such as strawberries or blackberries or even crumbled mini Oreos!

¡¡Hola de nuevo!! Ya sé que hace un montón que no me paso por aquí pero entre el fin de curso, que fue frenético, un curso de localización de videojuegos, algo de vacaciones, visita a una amiga, volver a las clases (aunque sean pocas de momento…) ha sido muy difícil ponerme con el blog.¡Pero tenía muchas ganas! Sin embargo, tengo que decir que no he hecho casi nada estas semanas. Simplemente algo de pan y unos cupcakes para el cumpleaños de mi hermano que prometo subir, aunque no tengo fotos.

No sé vosotros, pero aquí (Zaragoza) hace un calor horroroso. Llevamos metidos en una ola de calor por lo menos dos semanas y parece que este fin de semana las temperaturas empezarán a bajar. Un ejemplo, las últimas noches la temperatura no ha bajado de 24 grados y ni rastro de una brizna de aire que refresque el ambiente. Nada. Así que podréis entender que no encienda el horno para hacer cuapckes o pan. Pero tengo tantas ganas de hacer algo…. no sé si tiene algo de sentido lo que escribo. ¡Debe ser el calor!

Algo que también ha sufrido con este calor (y con las vacaciones, claro está) es mi lectura de blogs. Los ordenadores son una fuente de calor impresionante. Aun así, me he encontrado con varias recetas para el verano, es decir, recetas en las que ¡no hay que encender el horno! ¡Fantástico! La primera que encontré fue en un blog que me encanta, Cupcakelosophy. Cupcakelosophy tiene unas recetas y fotografías chulísimas, Davinia hace todas esas cosas que siempre quiero intentar y que, cuando la leo, pienso “¿por qué no?”. Algo que me encanta de Cupcakelosophy es que tiene ¡una sección de cheesecakes genial! La receta original del blog de Davinia es para un pedazo de cheesecake, grande y hermoso que podéis ver aquí. Sin embargo, tenía unos vasos muy chulos y decidí emplearlos como raciones individuales. Sale suficiente para seis vasos majos de tamaño y aún queda para un par de cakes individuales. Además ella encontó la receta en otro maravilloso blog, Call me cupcake. ¡Echadle un ojo porque es precioso!

One thought on “Summertime and Oreo & red fruit Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

